pfeillinks.png

 Deutsch 

Kestrel Nesting-Diary 2020

 

February 21st (Outside temperature 8°C, unstable)

Today the Falcon Terzel was visiting the niche in the early morning. Probably the surroundings were inspected, at the moment there are no major activities, not even on the part of the jackdaws and doves.

March 03rd, (Outside temperature 7°C, unstable)

Today we saw Mrs. Falcon sitting on her favourite place, on a beam of a shed near the church. Meanwhile Mr. Falcon sat on the tree opposite the tower and flew briefly to the niche to chase away the jackdaws sitting underneath. We could not yet find out if they are the same pair. The third from last year had a clear injury to his eye.



01.jpg
02.jpg
03.jpg
04.jpg


March 15th, (Outside temperature 10°C, sunny)

The two kestrels can be seen quite often, mostly in the morning and early evening. The courtship has already begun, this year it will take place from time to time in the niche, which is a real novelty. As in previous years, a second terzel is also involved, which observes the event from time to time with loud screaming. The jackdaws seem to be quite peaceful this year and the doves are currently gathering on the other side of the church tower.



05.jpg
06.jpg
07.jpg


March 22nd, (Outside temperature 5°C, sunny)

In the last days the usual squatting takes place again. Because of the bad weather the kestrels were only seldom on site and the jackdaws are now trying to conquer the coveted nesting place.

However, the impression via the camera is deceptive, the falcons are both near the church, let the jackdaws at the moment only grant. They carry now and then nesting material into the niche and the falcons sit next to it without intervening. We are very curious how long this will go well.



08.jpg
09.jpg
10.jpg


March 30th, (Outside temperature 4°C, sunny)

Today we had to fix a camera problem in the niche and at the same time we took the opportunity to "clean up" the place. During the last days there were several fights in front of the church tower, as the Terzel now actively intervened in the events and defended the nesting place. This was not to be expected differently, we hope that the jackdaws accept this, however, it is also possible that in the next days again nesting material is brought in by them.

Jackdaws are really likeable birds, but like most ravens they are not very popular with people. Yet they are sociable and extremely intelligent, and they urgently need nesting places in our settlements. In the tower of the Barbara church, however, there are at least 1 - 2 possibilities for them, which, by the way, have already been occupied by other jackdaws.



08.jpg
09.jpg
10.jpg
08.jpg
09.jpg
10.jpg


April 13th, (Outside temperature 15°C, sunny)

Short update of the last days: We had some problems with the technology, which hopefully will be fixed after Easter. This caused a temporary breakdown of the transmission. In the meantime the jackdaws have tried again and again to occupy the niche and added many new branches.

We could observe from the churchyard also that there were some small quarrels between jackdaws and hawks, but the latter were only occasionally on the spot.

In the last two days, however, both the Terzel and the Falcon Lady, who otherwise always sat above the breeding niche, came into the niche more and more often, so that one can actually assume that they will not leave the niche. This afternoon both were there again, there was also a present from the Terzel in the form of a mouse, but Madame Falcon probably had no appetite, so that the Terzel disappeared again without further thought with its present.

April 22nd, (Outside temperature 20°C, sunny)

The kestrels consistently guard the nesting place, we have not seen a jackdaw for several days. However, there have often been small disputes about the food in the niche, the terzel probably doesn't want to share. We are already very curious when the first egg will be laid.

April 27nd, (Outside temperature 20°C, sunny)

Finally and a bit late the first egg has been laid around 10:30am. The terzel immediately started incubating it and the lady left. It is about one week later than usual, but we are happy to have been informed by one of our friendly spectators.



snapshot1.jpg
snapshot3.jpg


April 29nd, (Outside temperature 15°C, sunny)

Today another egg has been laid at the late morning. Mr. Kestrel brought a mouse as a bounty.

May 1st, (Outside temperature 15°C, cloudy)

Almost unseen the third egg has been laid today. It is always two days between the eggs.

May 3rd, (Outside temperature 20°C, sunny)

Also today an egg has been laid. It is the forth and again in time.



snapshot4.jpg
snapshot5.jpg
snapshot6.jpg


May 4th, (Outside temperature 14°C, rainy)

Meanwhile the 4th egg was laid, both falcons warm the eggs alternately, it almost looks as if the laying of the eggs is finished, we are in for a surprise.

May 6th, (Outside temperature 20°C, sunny)

Friends informed us about the appearance of the fifth egg. Somewhere between noon and 4pm it appeared in the niche. As the lady now uses to sit on her eggs quite continously we had no information ourselves. Thanks to Bernhard in Forchtenberg.

May 19th, (Outside temperature 22°C, sunny)

Mrs. falcon broods and is also repeatedly replaced by the terzel, which warms the eggs in her absence. A couple of falcons usually stays together for a lifetime. The female lays 4-6 eggs between mid-April and mid-May and then incubates for about 30 days. After the young have hatched, they are fed for about 4 weeks. After they have left the nest, they are accompanied by their parents for another four weeks and continue to be fed. After that they have to find their own territory.

May 31st, (Outside temperature 18°C, sunny)

Already yesterday afternoon it was possible to see one broken eggshell. This morning we have been informed by Karin that already three chicks have hatched during the night. The pics show the change of "guards" between the parents. It'll stay interesting.

snapshot7.jpg
snapshot8.jpg
snapshot9.jpg

June 2nd, (Outside temperature 20°C, sunny)

Yesterday four and this morning all five chicks showed themselves to the camera. Busy activities of him and her including feeding with a mouse can be seen. Hopefully everybody get enough. At least they are eager to get food.

snapshot10.jpg
snapshot11.jpg
snapshot12.jpg

June 6th, (Outside temperature 15°C, rainy)

After 2 days of continuous rain, during which the mother hardly left the niche, the small kestrels seem to be well. They are fed regularly and warmed up extensively immediately afterwards. Already now one can see differences in size, but the falcon's mother makes sure that the meals are fairly distributed.

snapshot13.jpg
snapshot14.jpg
snapshot15.jpg

June 12th, (Outside temperature 27°C, sunny)

During the last days, which were mostly rainy and a bit chilly, we could watch the young falcons growing. For all spectators who are worried because you see the Terzel so rarely: the feed delivery takes place outside the niche. The falcon's mother often leaves the niche during the day and waits for the prey on the spire or on one of the nearby trees. Here she has everything in view.

June 25th, (Outside temperature 28°C, sunny)

The days fly by, the little falcons are busy with plumage care, from time to time they also try already simulated short flights. As usual, there are problems with the converted food supply, the food is currently no longer reduced in size and therefore the mice and thus also the flies pile up.

So far, everything looks very good, an exit could take place at the beginning of July, we will let ourselves be surprised. At the moment the young venture further and further forward towards the edge of the niche.

June 28th, (Outside temperature 23°C, cloudy)

The little hawks advance further and further, the fastest one catches the prey first, mostly he has to give it back again. But apparently, everybody gets enough. This afternoon the falcon's mother helped to cut up the mouse, the father only puts the food down at the entrance. We are very curious to see when the first one will dare to make the trip. The falcons from Dietlingen are already sitting on different roofs and doing flying exercises from house to house.

17.jpg
18.jpg
19.jpg

July 02nd, (Outside temperature 20°C, cloudy, drizzle)

This morning the hawks were quite excited and did a lot of flying exercises, but again it went more towards the top than towards the outside. At lunchtime we had another round of cuddling, but now more towards the exit. Actually, all 5 of them look very fit, but the youngest will certainly benefit from the extra days in the niche, especially since there is still enough food. We could not observe any motivation-flights of the falcon parents outside, this will surely happen soon.

Addendum: At about 19:00 the first falcon has flown out. It sat for a long time on an unfavorable place on the church roof, but was immediately sighted by its parents and provided with prey. Later in the evening he dared some dangerous manoeuvres, but became more and more courageous and finally sat on the stork's nest, the Terzel was always close by. Shortly before nightfall he landed in a rain gutter where he probably spent the night.

20.jpg
21.jpg
22.jpg
23.jpg
24jpg
25.jpg
26.jpg
27.jpg
28.jpg
29.jpg
30.jpg

July 03rd, (Outside temperature 24°C, sunny)

This is really a fun group this year. Early in the morning No. 2 had flown out, he had landed safely on the church roof, but apparently felt quite overwhelmed with the situation. He balanced on bars and in the rain gutters and jumped back and forth. Unfortunately, there was also a quite strong wind in the afternoon, so that one had to fear that he might fall down sometime. Meanwhile, No. 1 was already quite brave and flew back and forth between the tower and the stork's nest several times, then landed on the roof of the rectory and even further away.

In the early evening one of the two excursionists somehow made it back to the niche and the supply of mice worked again, but in the evening there was a fight between the four of them.

Later the last, i.e. first young falcon came back into the niche and the family was complete again. Only 3 of the falcons had spent the night there, the other 2 had finally made it to the tree opposite.

July 04th, (Outside temperature 24°C, sunny)

Also this morning again a falcon had flown out and in the early evening the No. 4, but it returned a short time later. It was quite windy today and the excursions of the falcons were quite short, only one flew already quite large rounds over the church, was to be seen also already at the cross right at the top. The falcon parents were always relatively short on site today and brought mice, which were deposited either outside the church, but also in the niche.

July 05th, (Outside temperature 23°C, cloudy)

Already in the early morning the last two were outside, even the corner seaters made it. We were in the churchyard for the service this morning and could observe at least 3 of them, which were trying out flying exercises in the still strong wind. Looks very dangerous, we hope they all make it. The young falcons will now be accompanied and fed by their parents for about 4 weeks, after that they will have to find their own territory.

We would like to thank you very much for the many mails and phone calls. We were especially pleased about the interest of the children, of whom we got to know some on site. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us via the contact form on our homepage.

31.jpg
32.jpg
33.jpg

Update of July 15th, (Outside temperature 20°C, rainy)

Our funny falcon family is still sitting on the church roof, but on the opposite side of the tower. Here one has furnished oneself apparently homely, mostly 3 of the young ones, sometimes 4 stay mainly there. The mice are served in a rain gutter and we are curious how long the falcon parents will continue to offer this service. Today it rained most of the time and a lot of feather care is visible. From time to time short round flights are made. Where the other two are staying, we do not know. But we suspect that they are travelling with the falcon mother.

pfeillinks.png

 English 

Falken-Tagebuch 2020

 

21. Februar 2020 (8°, wechselhaft)

Heute war der Falken Terzel am frühen Morgen zu Besuch in der Nische. Vermutlich wurde die Umgebung inspiziert, momentan gibt es noch keine größeren Aktivitäten, auch nicht von Seiten der Dohlen und Tauben.

03. März 2020, (7°, wechselhaft)

Heute sahen wir Frau Falke auf ihrem Lieblingsplatz, auf einem Balken eines Schuppens in der Nähe der Kirche sitzen. Währenddessen saß Herr Falke auf dem Baum gegenüber des Turmes und flog kurz die Nische an, um die darunter sitzenden Dohlen zu vertreiben. Wir konnten noch nicht herausfinden, ob es sich um dasselbe Paar handelt. Der Terzel vom vergangenen Jahr hatte ja eine deutliche Verletzung am Auge.



01.jpg
02.jpg
03.jpg
04.jpg


15. März 2020 (10°, sonnig)

Die beiden Falken sind recht häufig zu sehen, überwiegend vormittags und am frühen Abend. Die Balz hat schon begonnen, in diesem Jahr findet sie ab und zu auch in der Nische statt, das ist eine echte Neuerung. Wie in den Vorjahren ist auch wieder ein zweiter Terzel mit im Spiel, der das Geschehen ab und zu mit lautem Geschrei beobachtet. Die Dohlen scheinen in diesem Jahr recht friedlich zu sein und die Tauben versammeln sich momentan auf der anderen Seite des Kirchturms.



05.jpg
06.jpg
07.jpg


22. März 2020 (5°, sonnig)

In den letzten Tagen findet nun doch wieder die übliche Hausbesetzung statt, aufgrund des Schlechtwetters waren die Falken nur selten vor Ort und die Dohlen versuchen nun doch, den begehrten Nistplatz zu erobern.

Jedoch, der Eindruck nur über die Kamera trügt, die Falken sind beide in der Nähe der Kirche, lassen die Dohlen momentan nur gewähren. Diese tragen nun auch ab und zu Nistmaterial in die Nische und die Falken sitzen daneben, ohne einzugreifen. Wir sind sehr gespannt, wie lange das gut geht.



08.jpg
09.jpg
10.jpg


30. März 2020 (4°, sonnig)

Heute mussten wir ein Kameraproblem in der Nische beheben und haben gleichzeitig die Gelegenheit ergriffen, den Platz zu "säubern". In den letzten Tagen fanden mehrfach Kämpfe vor dem Kirchturm statt, da der Terzel nun aktiv in das Geschehen eingriff und den Nistplatz verteidigte. Dies war nicht anders zu erwarten, wir hoffen, dass die Dohlen dies akzeptieren, möglich ist aber auch, dass in den nächsten Tagen erneut Nistmaterial von ihnen eingebracht wird.

Dohlen sind wirklich sympathische Vögel, sie sind jedoch wie die meisten Rabenvögel nicht sehr beliebt bei den Menschen. Dabei sind sie gesellig und überaus intelligent und dringend auf Nistplätze in unseren Siedlungen angewiesen. Im Turm der Barbarakirche sind jedoch noch mindestens 1 - 2 Möglichkeiten für sie vorhanden, die im Übrigen auch schon angenommen wurden.



08.jpg
09.jpg
10.jpg
08.jpg
09.jpg
10.jpg


13. April 2020 (15°, sonnig)

Kurzes Update der letzten Tage: Wir hatten einige Probleme mit der Technik, die hoffentlich nach Ostern behoben sind. Dadurch kam es zeitweise zu einem Ausfall der Übertragung. Mittlerweile haben die Dohlen immer wieder versucht, die Nische zu besetzen und viele neue Äste eingetragen.

Wir konnten vom Kirchhof aus immer wieder beobachten, dass es zu einigen kleineren Streitereien zwischen Dohlen und Falken kam, jedoch waren letztere nur ab und zu vor Ort.

In den letzten beiden Tagen kamen aber sowohl der Terzel, als auch die Falkenfrau, die sonst immer oberhalb der Brutnische saß, immer öfter in die Nische, so dass man eigentlich davon ausgehen kann, dass sie die Nische nicht freigeben werden. Heute Nachmittag waren beide wieder vor Ort, es gab auch ein Geschenk vom Terzel in Form einer Maus, aber Madame Falke hatte wohl keinen Appetit, so dass der Terzel kurzerhand wieder mit seinem Geschenk verschwand.

22. April 2020 (20°, sonnig)

Die Falken bewachen konsequent den Nistplatz, wir haben seit mehreren Tagen keine Dohle mehr gesehen. Allerdings gab es auch schon öfter kleine Streitigkeiten wegen des Futters in der Nische, der Terzel möchte wohl nicht teilen. Wir sind schon sehr gespannt, wann das erste Ei gelegt wird.

27. April 2020 (20°, sonnig)

Endlich, gegen 10:30 wurde das erste Ei gelegt. Der Terzel ist sofort gekommen und wärmt es, während die Dame nochmal schnell weg ist. Die Falken sind dieses Jahr etwa eine Woche später als normal dran. Herzlichen Dank an verschiedene Zuschauer, die uns auf dieses Ereignis hingewiesen haben.



snapshot1.jpg
snapshot3.jpg


29. April 2020 (15°, regnerisch)

Auch heute wurde wieder am späten Vormittag ein Ei gelegt, die Nummer zwei. Herr Falke brachte zur Belohnung eine Maus.

1. Mai 2020 (15°, bewölkt)

Fast unbemerkt wurde heute das dritte Ei gelegt. Jedesmal liegen zwei Tage zwischen dem Legen.

3. Mai 2020 (20°, sonnig)

Auch heute ist wieder ein Ei gelegt worden. Es ist das Vierte und damit wieder pünktlich.

snapshot4.jpg
snapshot5.jpg
snapshot6.jpg

4. Mai 2020 (14°, regnerisch)

Mittlerweile wurde ja das 4. Ei gelegt, beide Falken wärmen die Eier abwechselnd, es sieht beinahe so aus, als wenn die Eiablage damit beendet ist, wir lassen uns überraschen.

6. Mai 2020 (20°, sonnig)

Von Freunden wurden wir darauf aufmerksam gemacht, dass jetzt auch das fünfte Ei gelgt wurde. Zwischen 12:00 und 16:00 war es auf einmal da. Da die Dame jetzt ziemlich oft auf den Eiern sitzt, waren wir selbst nicht einmal informiert. Danke nach Forchtenberg zu Bernhard.

19. Mai 2020 (22°, sonnig)

Frau Falke brütet und wird immer wieder auch vom Terzel abgelöst, der in ihrer Abwesenheit die Eier wärmt. Ein Falkenpaar bleibt meistens ein Leben lang zusammen. Das Weibchen legt zwischen Mitte April und Mitte Mai 4-6 Eier und brütet dann etwa 30 Tage lang. Nachdem die Jungen geschlüpft sind, werden sie ca. 4 Wochen lang gefüttert. Nachdem sie das Nest verlassen haben, werden sie noch weitere vier Wochen von den Eltern begleitet und weiter gefüttert. Danach müssen sie sich ihr eigenes Revier suchen.

31. Mai 2020 (18°, sonnig)

Bereits gestern Abend konnte man die erste Eihülle sehen. Heute morgen erreichte uns dann die Mail von Karin, dass bereits drei Küken in der Nacht geschlüpft waren. Die Bilder zeigen den "Wachwechsel" beim Brüten. Es bleibt spannend.

snapshot7.jpg
snapshot8.jpg
snapshot9.jpg

02. Juni 2020 (20°, sonnig)

Gestern waren es schon vier Küken und heute Morgen zeigte sich auch das letzte, fünfte Küken der Kamera. Reges Treiben von Mann und Frau Turmfalke inklusive Fütterung mit Maus läßt sich jetzt beobachten. Hoffen wir mal, dass alle fünf Jungen genug abbekommen. Gierig sind sie auf jeden Fall genug.

snapshot10.jpg
snapshot11.jpg
snapshot12.jpg

06. Juni 2020 (15°, regnerisch)

Nach 2 Tagen Dauerregen, während dem die Mutter die Nische kaum verließ, scheinen die kleinen Turmfalken wohlauf zu sein. Es wird regelmäßig gefüttert und gleich danach ausgiebig gewärmt. Bereits jetzt kann man Größenunterschiede erkennen, aber die Falkenmutter sorgt für eine gerechte Verteilung der Mahlzeiten.

snapshot13.jpg
snapshot14.jpg
snapshot15.jpg

12. Juni 2020 (27°, sonnig)

Während der letzten Tage, die überwiegend regnerisch und etwas kühl waren, konnten wir den jungen Falken beim Wachsen zusehen. Für alle Zuschauer, die in Sorge sind, weil man den Terzel so selten sieht: Die Futterübergabe findet außerhalb der Nische statt. Die Falkenmutter verlässt dafür tagsüber oft die Nische und wartet auf der Kirchturmspitze oder auf einem der Bäume in der Nähe auf die Beute. Hier hat sie alles im Blick.

25. Juni 2020 (28°, sonnig)

Die Tage vergehen wie im Flug, die kleinen Falken betreiben fleißig Gefiederpflege, ab und zu werden auch schon kurze Flüge simuliert. Mit der umgestellten Futterlieferung gibt es wie üblich Probleme, die Nahrung wird von der Mutter derzeit nicht mehr verkleinert und daher sammeln sich die Mäuse und damit auch die Fliegen.

Das sieht bis jetzt eigentlich alles sehr gut aus, ein Ausflug könnte Anfang Juli erfolgen, wir lassen uns überraschen. Momentan wagen sich die Jungen immer weiter nach vorne zum Rand der Nische.

28. Juni 2020 (23°, bewölkt)

Die kleinen Falken rücken immer weiter vor, der schnellste erwischt zuerst die Beute, meistens muss er sie dann wieder abgeben. Aber scheinbar bekommt jeder genug. Heute Nachmittag gab es von der Falkenmutter noch einmal Unterstützung bei der Zerteilung der Maus, der Vater legt das Essen nur am Eingang ab. Wir sind sehr gespannt, wann der erste den Ausflug wagt. Die Dietlinger Falken sitzen schon auf verschiedenen Dächern und machen Flugübungen von Haus zu Haus.

17.jpg
18.jpg
19.jpg

02. Juli 2020 (20°, bewölkt, Nieselregen)

Heute Morgen waren die Falken recht aufgeregt und machten viele Flugübungen, aber es ging wieder mehr Richtung nach oben, als nach draußen. In der Mittagszeit war wieder eine Runde Kuscheln angesagt, jetzt aber mehr in Richtung Ausgang. Eigentlich sehen sie alle 5 sehr fit aus, aber dem Jüngsten bekommen die zusätzlichen Tage in der Nische sicherlich gut, zumal noch ausreichend gefüttert wird. Wir konnten auch noch keine Motivationsflüge der Falkeneltern draußen beobachten, dies wird sicherlich bald erfolgen.

Nachtrag: Um ca. 19:00 Uhr ist der erste Falke ausgeflogen. Er saß längere Zeit auf ungünstiger Stelle auf dem Kirchendach, wurde aber umgehend von den Eltern gesichtet und mit Beute versorgt. Später am Abend wagte er dann ein paar gefährliche Manöver, wurde aber zunehmend mutiger und saß schließlich auf dem Storchennest, der Terzel war auch hier immer in der Nähe. Kurz vor Einbruch der Dunkelheit landete er dann in einer Regenrinne, in der er wahrscheinlich die Nacht verbracht hat.

20.jpg
21.jpg
22.jpg
23.jpg
24jpg
25.jpg
26.jpg
27.jpg
28.jpg
29.jpg
30.jpg




03. Juli 2020 (24°, sonnig)

Das ist wirklich eine lustige Truppe in diesem Jahr. Am frühen Morgen war Nr. 2 ausgeflogen, er war zwar sicher auf dem Kirchendach gelandet, fühlte sich aber scheinbar mit der Situation recht überfordert. Er balancierte auf Gittern und in den Regenrinnen und hüpfte hin und her. Leider gab es nachmittags auch einen recht kräftigen Wind, so dass man fürchten musste, dass er irgendwann abstürzt. Währenddessen war Nr. 1 schon recht mutig und flog einige Male zwischen Turm und Storchennest hin und her, landete dann auch auf dem Dach des Pfarrhauses und noch weiter weg.

Am frühen Abend hatte es dann einer der beiden Ausflügler wieder irgendwie in die Nische geschafft und die Versorgung mit Mäusen funktionierte auch wieder, allerdings gab es am Abend deswegen eine Rauferei zwischen den Vieren.

Später kam dann der letzte, sprich erste Jungfalke wieder in die Nische und die Familie war wieder komplett. Die Nacht dort verbracht hatten dann aber wieder nur 3 der Falken, die anderen 2 hatten es nun endlich auf den Baum gegenüber geschafft.

04. Juli 2020 (24°, sonnig)

Auch heute Morgen war wieder ein Falke ausgeflogen und am frühen Abend die Nr. 4, die aber kurze Zeit später wieder zurückkehrte. Es war heute recht windig und die Ausflüge der Falken waren recht kurz, lediglich einer flog schon recht große Runden über die Kirche, war auch schon am Kreuz ganz oben zu sehen. Die Falkeneltern waren heute immer nur relativ kurz vor Ort und brachten Mäuse, die entweder außerhalb der Kirche, aber auch in der Nische deponiert wurden.

05. Juli 2020 (23°, bewölkt)

Bereits am frühen Morgen waren die letzten beiden draußen, auch der Eckensitzer hat es geschafft. Wir waren heute Morgen zum Gottesdienst im Kirchhof und konnten mindestens 3 von ihnen beobachten, welche Flugübungen im weiterhin starken Wind probierten. Sieht sehr gefährlich aus, wir hoffen, sie schaffen es alle. Die jungen Falken werden jetzt noch etwa 4 Wochen lang von ihren Eltern begleitet und gefüttert, danach müssen sie sich ein eigenes Revier suchen.

Wir möchten uns hiermit ganz herzlich für die vielen Mails und Anrufe bedanken. Besonders über das Interesse der Kinder haben wir uns sehr gefreut, von denen wir einige vor Ort kennengelernt haben. Falls es irgendwelche weiteren Fragen gibt, könnt Ihr uns sehr gerne über das Kontaktformular auf unserer Homepage kontaktieren.